Giving and Receiving Feedback – Part 2

The whole process of giving and receiving feedback has been both beneficial to my learning, and the learning I will continue to pass onto my students. I realised that even though everyone in the unit had been given the same task, they did not approach it in the same way. Not one blog I read was the same and everyone approached the topic in different ways. This is what inquiry learning is all about. It requires more than answering questions or getting a right answer. We learn by investigating, exploring, searching, researching and studying, to name a few.

The feedback I received from the staff for my presentation was positive. They were interested in learning more about the GEST model, data gathering, inquiry models and questioning frameworks. It opened their eyes to approach to learning that has been overlooked in the Education Queensland C2C units. Next year, a few teachers have shown interest in learning more about inquiry learning.

I also received some accidental feedback from a student in the unit who was not from my group. He thought that my blog was one of his group members, offered some positive feedback, and then realised it was not the blog of the person he thought it was. Thank you, your feedback was much appreciated.

Some great resources here Prue, I might even have to use some for my posts in blog stage 2  I made the comment on Liz’s blog that it would be good if she could make the link clearer between the resources contents and the specific details of her ILA and I think this applies to your post as well…just a thought.

The most helpful feedback came from Mandy after she marked my presentation. She pointed out that I needed to use the student responses from the final interviews to support the data I had gathered for Blog Stage 2. She also mentioned, that presenting students with too many information literacy or inquiry based learning models may confuse them. I realized that the way students and adults analyse and evaluate models such as these, are very different and could overwhelm many students. My confidence increased when she mentioned that the way I analysed the responses, based on the ACARA Critical and Creative Thinking and ICT General Capabilities, was what she was thinking about doing with the CLN650 students next year. Glad I could help. Thanks for that Mandy!

Overall my group members gave me very positive feedback.

Your blog looks great – the first thing that stuck my is the look of your major blog post – at first glance it looks appealing which I think is important for a blog (much more so than an essay).  Looking at yours made me realise that I need to put more effort into making my look more ‘inviting’ like a blog should J  The dot points were effective for “what did” and “didn’t work” and a good idea when posting on a blog rather than large chunks of information.I can see why you wrote that ‘data gathering and analysis was time consuming and at times tiresome’ – you did a huge effort with your data collection and analyse – well done.I enjoyed reading about what you now working on with the year 7 class.

This type of reflection has made me think about how I approach inquiry learning and helped me understand why things transpired the way they did. What I have gained throughout the experience will be carried through to all future inquiry projects, from the successes and failures, the high and the lows, the knowledge I have gained, to the experiences I have had.  If you have been thinking about approaching learning through inquiry, I highly recommend you try.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

